Wednesday, May 30, 2007
Here We Go.......
(Note: Man, I wish I had spell check on that application, I just realized I made like 4 really lame spelling errors)
I would like to take this space to tell you why I would be a great fit for this position. If I am hired, I will save the city of Wonderful a great deal of time and money. As I am currently employed by your city, doing the job for which I am applying, my backgrounds, training, and general hiring process, would be very abbreviated. Not only do I have almost six years of dispatch experience, much of it is with Wonderful. I would need minimal refreshers on policies and procedures, and have already passed Wonderful PD's extensive backgrounds, thus saving money, and by not having to train someone new, which takes on average 3 months, I could save Wonderful PD a good deal of time. I feel I am a great potential asset for Wonderful, as I am very familiar with the officers; I know them by their voice. This greatly increases officer safety, which is a dispatcher's number one priority. If one of the officers keys the mic requesting code 3 cover, but does not use his/her call sign, I am almost sure to recognize him/her. It would take a new dispatcher months to learn acquire this skill.
I did not voluntarily leave Wonderful PD, my postion was cut. Wonderful PD was wonderful to me when that happened; helping me get the lateral position at Evil PD.However, no other agency can compare to Wonderful Police. I have remained loyal and committed in my per diem position, and have waited for the time where I could once again apply for the full time position.
So, keep your fingers and toes crossed, and prayers! Lots and lots of prayers!!!!!
Friday, May 18, 2007
A 5150 EXCLUSIVE!!!!!!!!




Wednesday, May 16, 2007
California Police Officers Memorial. May 3, 2007




Thursday, May 10, 2007
Tuesday, May 08, 2007
GRRRRRRR......
Saturday, May 05, 2007
Arnie
Wednesday, May 02, 2007
For Those Who Have Fallen

Wednesday, April 25, 2007
Is This Kinda Like Racial Profiling...?

I have been around cops now for almost six years. I have dispatched for 4 different agencies and have met officers from many, different departments in California, from the top, to the bottom of this state and I gotta tell you some things are just universal. For example:
*Radio clicks are used as laughter, everywhere
*Top management just doesn't "get it"
*Sometimes the gossip is worse than high school
*Don't EVER assign a paper call to the wrong beat officer
*Don't take a unit off of code 7 unless it is really, really important
*The detectives think their at least a little cooler than the beat cops (and often times think they are waaaaaaaay better)
*Every single stinking communications center was once located "in the basement"
*Yes spicy tacos can be considered breakfast food if your shift ends at 0700hrs
And the top thing I have personally witnessed at all the agencies I have EVER come into contact with:
***Most cops really do eat coffee AND donuts
Now, every aforementioned PD has tried to convince others and themselves, that they have graduated to bagels and St*rbucks, but I have never been in a break room where donuts were left out, that within minutes weren't left annihilated. You would think someone often brought in pink boxes full of crumbs. It totally makes sense; it is a place that is often open 24 hours, and it is a quick sugar rush. I bought the entire shift Krispy Kremes and not one officer said thanks. Sigh, oh well!
Thursday, April 12, 2007
Not Too Bright
I am Speechless...And I DON'T Get Speechless....

So I got a call from a guy, who couldn't have sounded more normal.
Me: Wonderful PD
The Nutty Professor: Hello, good evening, how are you?
Me: Fine, how can I help you. [Side note, I hate small talk on the police lines.]
TNP: Well actually there is someone in my house, and I don't know who he is. He won't talk to me.
Me: Like, someone came to the door and you let them in, but didn't know them?
TNP: No, I don't know him, I don't even know how he got in here but he is hiding in my closet. [RP sounds calm, and not afraid] He seems rather shy actually; when I call to him, he won't come out of the closet.
Me: [Not even knowing where to begin] How long has he been in there?
TNP: Well, only about an hour. I first noticed him when I woke up around midnight [three hours ago]. He was standing in the corner of my bedroom, with a lampshade on his head.
Me: Wait, you noticed him three hours ago but didn't call until now?
TNP: Well, it didn't concern me until he hid in my closet and wouldn't come out.
Me: [I am scanning my mental data base for how this can possibly be a sane RP because, he sounded so normal!!!!] Well..... Did you have a party at your house? Is that why he has a lampshade on his head? [I've heard people do that at parties, but I know I am really reaching at this point.]
TNP: (Laughing genially) Oh no, my dear, he just showed up with some lady.
ME: Wait, there is a lady there too?
TNP: Yes, she is around here somewhere. I think she came in through the walls. Why don't you go ahead and send out an officer.
ME: Yeah, why don't I....
And I am thinking how on earth do I dispatch this? I need to be concise, but also make it clear this guy is cuckoo for coco puffs. And how do I label it? "Suspicious Circs" ? "Welfare Check" ? I finally settled on "5150" because as normal as he sounded--- he wasn't.
Now what do I say on the air? Note to self: Next time do not attempt to wing it.
ME: Unit Paul 19 with Paul 2 for cover 5150 at --------------- address. Rp says there is a man hiding in his closet......[huge open mic'd pause] he has a lampshade on his head...........He didn't have a party at his house" [Why on earth did I just say that????]
P19: ..........[huge open mic'd pause]........Okaaaay......
So the units arrive, talk with the subject for a while. Sgt. Kevin, shows up, the Sgt. clears the call, the units go code 4, and then the Sgt. comes into dispatch giggling. Yes, giggling.
Sgt. Kevin: (Snicker, giggle, snicker)
ME: Whaaat?????? Was he nuts? He sounded normal? Was their really a guy in his closet? [I was half expecting there to be, I really was.]
Sam 5: Nope, he was all alone, but I think I'll let Clyde (P19) tell you, all about it if he makes it back in here. I told Mike (P2) don't leave Clyde behind, we are like the military, we never leave a man behind. (Giggle)
And he left dispatch, leaving me to wonder, what on earth...? So eventually the units clear with "Does not meet the criteria" (not a danger to himself or others), and Clyde comes into dispatch. [Side note here. I love Clyde. Not like in an "oooh la la way", just in a, "he's a really nice guy who is good at his job in a young, on fire, arrests everyone who is bad, pulls over anything that moves" kind of way while, still managing to ALWAYS give me bathroom breaks, include me in conversations, tell me how calls turn out and get me food if I need it. Love him. ] So Clyde comes in and I kid you not, he looks shell shocked.
ME: Weeeeeeeelllll??????? Was he nuts?????
Clyde: Oh yeah. In a normal sounding kind of way. How do I put this?.... He was a gay, psychologist and, um, amateur photographer, who was totally crazy.
ME: Oh. Wait, he was a psychologist? For real?
Clyde: Yup.
ME: What do you mean by the photographer part?
Clyde: (Looking a bit uncomfortable) Well, in his house he had every wall lined with pictures of naked men. Well, not all of them were naked, this one really big black guy sitting in an oak tree had on a pink thong.....
ME: Wow... Was he on drugs or something?
Clyde: Oh, he'd taken something... Viagra... And you could tell.
ME: Ewwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!
Clyde: Yeah.
Clyde turned and walked slowly out of dispatch. I don't think the poor guy will ever be the same. A piece of his innocence died that day...
Flash forward like two hours later.
TNP: Hello. I need you to send out the officers again, that guy and the woman are back. I know your officers thought I was crazy, but I am not. I need them to tell them to stop moving my stuff around and ask them to leave. They aren't in the house anymore, though. Now they are in the Oak tree in the back.
[I'm guessing asking him, "The same oak tree you photographed a big guy in a thong in?" would be inappropriate.] So instead,
ME: OK......Is he still wearing the lampshade? [Why did I say that????]
TNP: (Laughing kindly) Oh no, not anymore.
ME: Paul 19 and Paul 2 recall on the 5150 at ---------. He says the man and woman are back from earlier, but this time they are in the Oak tree out back.......He isn't wearing the lampshade anymore. [Rebecca, what did I say about not winging it?????]
Paul 2/Mike: Was there a pink elephant? [Mike can get away with anything on the air, he has the second most seniority and only has 13 months, 2 weeks and 3 days left, not that he is counting.]
ME: Affirm, also in the Oak tree. [I can't believe I said that on the air!]
I had no idea what they could do for this guy but, if nothing else they needed to stop him from getting into a cycle where he'd keep calling and calling. So the officers went back out. This time, not only did the originating officers go out, as is procedure, every, single officer on the shift decided to go out and watch the show. Officers all went on scene, called out a code 4, spent about 15 minutes total there and cleared. Clyde cleared with, "Still does not meet the criteria enroute to the station for decon." So I was thinking, it was a whole lotta nothing, and thought that was the end of it. It was time to go home, end of shift, so I was mentally on to other things. Also at the time, I didn't know "decon" meant "decontamination." Then I got a MDT message from Clyde:
DO NOT GO HOME I HAVE TO TELL YOU WHAT HAPPENED!!!!!!!!
So, I eagerly waited for him to come back in. But first, every other officer who'd been there came through dispatch laughing, and telling me I had to wait for Clyde to tell me what happened. So Clyde walks into dispatch, walks right by me into the restroom, and proceeds to wash his hands for like 5 minutes. I can here him just scrubbing away in there. Oh man, I think, this can't be good.
Clyde: [Comes out of the bathroom with the antibacterial dispenser, just pouring it on.] Yeah, that was gross. So we go back to his house, and before having him sit down on his couch, using good officer safety, I checked the couch for weapons.
ME: Oh no. [Imagining some strange "toy" being pulled out of the cushions]
Clyde: So I pick up a towel, luckily by the edges, to check around the couch and the guy says, 'Oh don't mind that, I just was using it for my masturbation session'
ME: Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
Poor Clyde, not only had his innocence died earlier that evening, not only had he probably been called back out by the nutty professor just to be eye candy, and not only did he have a nasty experience while being safe, on top of all that, the other officers would just not let him live it down! Poor Clyde. Maybe he can borrow the lampshade from that other guy to hide his shame....
Friday, March 30, 2007
Geeeez! Grow Up!
Tuesday, March 27, 2007
Things That Make You Go Hmmmm......(Click Here)

Thanks Mike, for awarding me this, how cool!!!!!! OK, so how this works is, after being "tagged" with this award, I must now give the award to five other blogs I feel deserve it. (I added the rules at the bottom.) Here goes:
Brent at Law and Disorder---Brent takes the time from his busy schedule to write great posts about his job as a detective, his family and current events. He takes the time to comment and he updates regularly.
Jason at Wight Wing Wadical-Jason's blog(s) more than any other I have ever seen, not only give the reader a massive amount of information to process, but also an unapologetic opinion on the way he believes things are/should be.
PJ at Being There--Not only is PJ a dispatcher, he takes the time to honor heroes from this war, with in depth entries that give information and tributes to those who deserve it.
Ron at Tis Gar Plen---I don't even know how to describe his blog....Being a ex-cop, current geek, he covers all kinds of topics. You'll just have to check him out for yourselves!
The original Thinking Blog's rules. The following is taken directly from his site, and it is where it all began:
Congratulations, you won a Thinking Blogger Award! Should you choose to participate, please make sure you pass this list of rules to the blogs you are tagging. I thought it would be appropriate to include them.The participation rules are simple:
1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
3. Optional: Proudly display the 'Thinking Blogger Award' with a link to the post that you wrote.
That was that! Please, remember to tag blogs with real merits, i.e. relative content, and above all - blogs that really get you thinking!
Friday, March 23, 2007
Open Mouth Insert....Shoe

Me: Hello Wonderful PD, how can I help you?
Caller: I need help, I lost my shoe.
Me: I'm sorry? You lost your.....
Caller: My shoe, on the freeway, in your city.
Me: OK....well all calls for service on the freeway are handled by the Highway Patrol, so let me get you their number. It's ----------------.
Caller: Great, I will call them, I also need the number for those guys who work on the freeway in those orange vests. You see, my shoe was lost on the freeway and it was very expensive, but now I only have one shoe, and I want the other one back.
Me: Well the guys in the orange vests are probably CalTrans...Or prisoners...Let's just go with CalTrans. Their number is ------------------.
Caller: Oh good, I really want my shoe back, it is very expensive and it is somewhere on the freeway. I lost it their a week ago.
Me: Ok, well if anyone can help you it will be one of the numbers I gave you.
Caller: Thank you so much. Bye!
Tuesday, March 20, 2007
I Felt Like a Peeping Tom.....

ME: GUYS, THIS IS NUTS!
Wednesday, March 14, 2007
It's Madness, Madness, I Tell You !!!!!!!!!!

This is a conversation Chris and I had one morning last week. It went a little something like this:
Chris: Guess what they are doing at my office this month.
Me: What?
Chris: You know the basketball thing; March Madness?
Me: Yeah.....
Chris: Well the officers decided to have March Mustache Madness
Me: Say what?
Chris: They decided to all grow mustaches this month.
Me: Oooookaaay. Are you going to?
Chris: No they know not to bother asking me to do that [stuff]
Me: Hmmm?
Chris: Beck, they all look like they're gonna be in a gay porn.
Me: Yeah, I bet they do! All I can picture in my head is a bunch of Lt. Dangles from Reno 911 running around.
Chris: Yup, that about covers it.
Me: Wow, can't wait to hear what they do for April.
Monday, March 05, 2007
...And on a Lighter Note


Thursday, March 01, 2007
What I Fear Most

I really don't worry so much about Chris being shot and killed. Yes, I realize it is a very real possibility but it's not what I fear. Chris was in combat in the Marine Corps, and part of me feels like since he got out of that situation physically unscathed, he can handle himself alright if "only" one or a few subjects shoot at him. Probably sounds weird, but it is how I rationalize it, I guess... What I fear is Chris being mowed down by a passing motorist. Here in CA that seems to be happening a lot lately, mostly by drunk drivers like what happened to Chris' friend, Officer Brett Clearman.
Why do I bring this up now? Chris came home this morning and said, "I came so close to becoming a ped spread last night, I quit my job. I really did....For 3 whole minutes, I was unemployed. We were taking an accident report and this sh-- wagon came flying by, lost control and came, literally, within one inch of smearing me across the road. I said, 'f--- this, they don't pay me enough, I quit', and I got in my patrol car. I just sat there. I was serious enough that [my partner] believed me. Then I got out and finished the accident report."
My brilliant reply was, "Ped spread? That's a new one for me. And what's a sh-- wagon?" Turns out he meant a sanitation truck. I just had no words to express how thankful I was he was OK...and still employed.
Wednesday, February 21, 2007
Just Some Random Stuff...

Thursday, February 15, 2007
Oh No He DIDN'T! ! ! ! !
Thursday, February 08, 2007
24 Beers in a Case, 24 Hours in a Day---Coincidence? I Think Not!











